The Power and Position of Reviews

Prior to being in Marketing, I had a very consumer concept of reviews. When doing research on a product I wanted to buy or place that I wanted to go I might browse through them and think more favorably of companies with good reviews. At the same time I never really took the time to write a review. I can think of maybe five reviews I have written in regards to my experience with a business or a product (and none of them were good). Now working in Marketing, I use and analyze these reviews every day. It seems that most consumers would have the same opinion that I had regarding reviews and the importance of writing them. Coming from a business, let me profess how much we love reviews and use them.

When I go through our reviews, which I do weekly. I look for a few key items. The very first is customer satisfaction. Was the customer happy with our job, our crew, our office process? What did they like the most, is there a specific person I can praise or give a gift card to in order to show our appreciation? If they were not happy with any of these facets I look for reasons why. Was it something avoidable that we need to train on? Is it based upon one personality or individual? These reviews result in manager notification, retraining, or (in some horrible events) termination. Businesses crave feedback both positive and negative. This allows for us to grow and make changes and move forward. It lets a company know what they are doing right and what they need to improve upon. When I think about it on this level it always makes me think about training a dog. If the dog is never told that it should not pee on the floor or chew up shoes, it will never know that you don’t like that behavior. Similarly if you reward the pet for doing right by giving them treats they will want to continue to do the same thing. We as company use these to correct our negative behaviors and reward the positive.

So please please take the time to share your experiences with others, good or bad!

Speaking of, if your a customer you can review us now! 🙂

“We use Angie’s List to assess whether we’re doing a good job keeping valued customers like you happy. Please visit AngiesList.com/Review/190662 in order to grade our quality of work and customer service. up to number 8

 

Leave a Reply

